The Australian Government has appointed Judy O’Connell and Andrew Mills as part-time members to the Board of Taxation, each for a three-year term. Dr Julianne Jaques has been reappointed until 30 September 2025.

Ms O’Connell was the Victorian Small Business Commissioner from 2016 to 2021. Prior to that, she worked for the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) for more than 30 years, including as Assistant Commissioner for Small Business. She also worked for the OECD’s Centre for Tax Policy and Administration.

Mr Mills has over 40 years’ experience in senior commercial, accounting and legal practice, government and academic roles.He is a former ATO Second Commissioner of Taxation and was a director-partner at Greenwoods & Freehills for over 20 years.

Dr Jaques has been a member of the Board since 2017 and served as Acting Chair from 2019 to 2020.

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body that provides the Government with advice on tax policy. It undertakes in-depth reviews as requested and provides input on tax policy and law design matters.


Comments are closed.