On 8 April 2019, the Australian Government announced Ms Karen Payne as the full-time Inspector-General of Taxation (IGT), for a five-year period from 6 May 2019. Her appointment follows Mr Ali Noroozi’s tenure and Mr Andrew McLoughlin’s contribution as acting IGT.

Ms Payne will bring substantial private practice and public service experience to the role of Inspector-General, Treasurer Josh Frydenberg noted. Ms Payne is the inaugural Chief Executive Officer of the Board of Taxation and a member of the Board of Taxation. She is also a member of the Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation.

Previously, Ms Payne was a partner with Minter Ellison specialising in corporate and international tax, with extensive experience managing complex tax related matters across the financial services, property, mining, energy and utilities sectors.

Ms Payne holds a Master of Commerce, Legal Studies and Taxation and a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce, Accounting, Finance and Systems from the University of New South Wales. Ms Payne is a solicitor admitted in New South Wales, holds professional membership to the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, is a chartered tax adviser (Taxation Institute of Australia) and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

The Inspector-General of Taxation

The office of the Inspector-General of Taxation (IGT) is an independent statutory agency that identifies systemic issues in the administration of tax law. It reviews elements of the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) and Tax Practitioners Board’s administration against principles of good tax administration and provides independent advice to government. The IGT also addresses complaints about the administrative actions of these agencies, including the policies and procedures which guide their actions.

Ms Payne’s appointment will continue the high level of skills and experience available to the office of IGT to help improve the administration of the tax laws for the benefit of all taxpayers, the Treasurer said.

(Source: Media release)

Comments are closed.