Cut-off date: Monday 19 November 2018

Oxford University Press Australia and New Zealand (OUPANZ) and the Australasian Tax Teachers Association (ATTA) will provide the opportunity to publish a book based upon a thesis in the OUP ATTA Doctoral Series. Expressions of interest are therefore called for doctoral submissions to be considered for the eighth publication in the Series. Past authors have included Lisa Marriott, Brett Freudenberg, John Bevacqua, Fiona Martin, Theuns Steyn, Caroline Dick and Ann Kayis-Kumar. Applicants are requested to follow the guidelines listed below which have been agreed to by the Doctoral Series Editorial Board (DSEB), consisting of Professors Adrian Sawyer, Kerrie Sadiq and Dale Pinto.

  1. To be eligible for submission for possible publication in the OUP ATTA Doctoral Series, a doctoral thesis must be at least at the stage of having been approved for award of the degree, but need not be awarded at the time of submission.
  2. To be eligible, the academic must be placed with an Australian or New Zealand University. The content should relate to taxation with particular relevance to Australia and/or New Zealand.
  3. Submissions must be made to the DSEB by the relevant cut-off date for a year to be considered for possible publication in the series in that year. For 2018, the cut-off date is 19 November 2018. The successful applicant will be announced at ATTA in January 2019.
  4. Theses from any period will be considered by the DSEB for possible publication in the series. However, the currency, relevance and topical interest of the thesis will be among the considerations taken into account by the DSEB in selecting a thesis for possible publication.
  5. If a thesis which is submitted by an author needs to be updated/edited in the view of the DSEB then the author undertakes to carry out any updates/edits to the satisfaction of the DSEB within time frames which the DSEB specifies.
  6. Doctoral submissions may include PhD or SJD theses which have been through the examination process.
  7. The DSEB may decide not to publish any submissions received in a particular year. There will not be more than one winner in any year.
  8. Any publication is subject to a contractual agreement between the author and OUP and will be subject to OUP’s standard approval processes including approval by the Delegates of the Press.
  9. OUP will arrange for cover and internal design. OUP will include the ATTA logo on the back cover of the book.
  10. Timing of publication will be dependent on the availability of OUP internal resources and will be discussed on a case-by-case basis.
  11. The decisions of the DSEB are final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Please send submissions on or before the 2018 cut-off date of 19 November 2018 to Professor Dale Pinto ([email protected]). The submission should include:

  • a copy of the thesis
  • a brief statement on the status of the award (whether awarded or approved)
  • details of the supervisors of the degree and
  • copies of the examiners’ formal reports on the thesis.

(Source: ATTA Newsletter)

Comments are closed.